Not Everest, But Table Mountain

We climbed table mountain

I think there are different levels to having a fear of heights (pun intended). There’s the “if I can’t land safely if I was to jump/fall, I’m too high.” Or the “I’m high enough to feel the potential fatal consequences of gravity were I to fall but I’m safe-ish/fine.” And then there’s the “why am I about to abseil off of a cliff 1000m above sea-level where I can’t see the bottom before I do?” type of fear.

Words by Marie Bashiru

That one was the category I was in, the one that set the precedent for what was my second ever outdoor climb which took place on Table Mountain, Cape Town, South Africa last month. 

Traversing the famous Jacob Ladder’s route which consisted of 4 pitches on a “trad route” (cams were incrementally planted to mark the route rather than bolts), Justin from Climb ZA did the amazing job of leading me through what was easily one of the hardest things I would say I’ve done in my life. And what I truly didn’t expect is that it would be a 100% mental challenge vs. a physical. Not to mention the unexpected arrival of my period that morning which added to the Type 2 Fun I didn’t realise I was signing myself up for. In the words of one of the seasoned climbers who was part of the 7am start clan at the foot of the mountain earlier that day, what I was doing he actually considered “Type 3 Fun”. Type 2 but with amused onlookers who get to revel in the difficulty and sheer terror of the one doing it. If my screams on that dangling abseil line were anything to go by, they would have had the time of their lives.

Jacob’s Ladder

But also, if those screams, and my declarations that I wasn’t going to continue and make it to the end at several points throughout the climb meant anything, it was that they were a reminder that I was still alive. Still alive to behold the incredible views from 1000 feet up of the mountains, cirrus blankets of clouds and the deep blue of the Atlantic ocean below me. Still alive to experience this privileged position of having access to the great outdoors like this; able-bodied and doing something that not many people who look like me, get to do. I did make it to the end, and I’ve already planned my next trip to do some lead climbing in Spain. And if screaming and yelling means growth and continuing to do hard things and resisting that muscle of self-imposed limitations, then I’ll get back on the wall, and do it all again. 

Community Spotlight - Joseph Oyegoke

How long have you been climbing?

I’ve been climbing since 2019 - shortly after Clmbxr was founded by my boy Rotimi.

How did you get into it?

 I’m athletic by nature, so I tend to love most physical activity. After a few sessions (and more importantly, once I got over tight climbing shoes squeezing the life out of my toes and my inability to bend my fingers after sessions!) I found that I really enjoyed the workout, camaraderie and problem solving. I also had an insatiable desire to improve!

Your favourite Clmbxr moment?

Ooooh. This is a tough one. A memorable one is early days when Aaron was christened ‘Chalk bae’ after he calmly drew for the chalk bag to ‘chalk it up’ halfway through a overhang, somehow managed to chalk both hands without falling and then finish the route! N.B. He hated the nickname so it didn’t last! 😅

What are your climbing goals for this year?

I would like to comfortably climb V4 routes and hopefully complete my first V5! 🙏🏾 To do that, I really need to improve my flexibility and nimbleness on the walls as my hip flexors are always tight! 😭

Did You Know?

In the spirit of Black History Month this February in the US, we are spotlighting those who did summit Mount Everest, also known by its original Tibetan name Chomolungma. Full Circle, a group of Black climbers and mountaineers in the US were the first black people to do it, only as recently as May 2022. The group of 8 includes Abby Dione, one of only two Black women in the US to own a climbing gym (!) Blazing trails by decolonising the outdoors, demystifying and opening up access to Black and Brown people, is an effort that inspiringly runs a parallel to our Clmbxr community here in London.

Key Dates

Clmbxr Dates

Join us for climbing sessions every Monday and Saturday at various climbing centers across London. It's not just about climbing; it's about building community

For more details head over to www.clmbxr.co.uk or drop us an email: [email protected].